Toronto Lefty Ray wins the Sae Young, Brewers Burns wins NL

Toronto Lefty Ray wins the Sae Young, Brewers Burns wins NL

Toronto’s Robbie Ray rebounded from a dismal season to win the AL Cy Young and Milwaukee right Corbin Burnes returned from a COVID-19 bout to win the NL Grand Prix on Wednesday.

In the pitcher year, Burns topped the bigs with a 2.43 ERA and topped the AL Ray at 2.84. Both provided impressive strike totals as well, which helped build their cases with those studying new age statistics and others researching traditional numbers.

Burns beat out Zach Wheeler of Philadelphia, both with 12 first-place votes from members of the Baseball Writers Guild of America. Max Scherzer took third place.

Burns became the first Brewers pitcher to win an NL award – Pete Vuckovich in 1982 and Rollie Fingers in 1981 won the award when Milwaukee was still in the MLS.

Ray became the first Toronto pitcher to win since the late Roy Halladay in 2003.

Ray got 29 votes in first place. Yankees ace Gerrit Cole got the most votes and took second place with Chicago White Sox righty Lance Lynn in third.


At the age of 11-5, Burns beat 234 in 167 runs while becoming an All-Star for the NL Central Brewers Champion. He had fewer innings than his competitors, due to missing out on two weeks in early May after testing positive for the coronavirus.

In his first season as a full-time rookie, Burns hit a record 58 before making his debut. He tied with the major league tag cheerleader 10 in a row against the Cubs in August.

Burns teamed up with close-up Josh Hader in a no-hitter game against Cleveland in September. Burns hit 14 over eight rounds in that match—that was his ninth non-hit record in the majors this season, and topped the eighth set in 1884 when bowlers started throwing the ball.

Burnes were 4-1 with a 2.11 ERA during the virus shortening season and were hampered by a tilted strain. He’s back to lead the big leagues with 12.6 strikes in every nine runs this year.

Voting for the prizes was completed before the playoffs began. Burns threw six playoff innings against Atlanta in the NL series at the age of 27 later in October.


Ray led the majors with 248 strikes and led AL with 193 innings 1/3. He went 13-7 in 32 starts and helped keep Toronto in the playoff until the final weekend.

Having turned 30 last month, the prize makes him good — a free agent, who turned down an eligible $18.4 million offer from Toronto earlier on Wednesday.

Ray’s strong arm always grabbed attention. He ranks first in major league history with 11.2 strokes in all nine runs (minimum: 1,000 runs), and was an All-Star with Arizona in 2017.

But controlling its heat and sharp tones was often a problem, and Ray passed out last year. He led the majors in walks while going 2-5 combined with a 6.62 ERA for the Diamondbacks and Blue Jays during the short pandemic season.

The downturn has reduced his base salary from $9.43 million to $8 million this year. He won some of that with $125,000 winning Cy Young, and numbers to cash in soon.


Drafted and signed in 2010, Ray made his league debut in 2014 with Detroit — future Cy Young winners Max Scherzer, Justin Verlander, Rick Purcello and David Price also included.

Ray traded for cash in Toronto on August 31, 2020, for diluted Travis Bergen. Ray was 49-51 with a 4.26 ERA over seven seasons in the majors prior to that big year.

Ray became the fifth Blue Jays bowler to win the Cy Young race with Halladay and Roger Clemens in 1997-1998 and Pat Hentgen in 1996.

the following

The MVPs will be announced Thursday, bringing the BBWAA Awards season to a close.

Los Angeles Angels two-way star Shuhei Ohtani is AL’s favorite, with Toronto FC player Vladimir Guerrero Jr. and Blue Jays player Marcus Simin.

Phillies star Bryce Harper, Washington’s Juan Soto, Juan Soto and Dynamo San Diego Fernando Tates Jr. have qualified for the English Premier League finals.

Regardless of who wins, it will be the first time since 1987 (cubs’ Andre Dawson and Toronto’s George Bell) that neither of them reached the playoffs in the year they were elected.



More from AP MLB: and

Copyright 2021 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *